Manchester Metrolink

The Metrolink is a tram network servicing the Greater Manchester area, specifically the cities of Manchester and Salford and the metropolitan boroughs of Bury, Oldham, Rochdale, Trafford, and Tameside.

There are currently no Metrolink stations in Bolton, Stockport, or Wigan.

It is owned by Transport for Greater Manchester and operated by RATP.

Current Routes

Metrolink trams currently run along 7 routes.


Connections to the National Rail network are located at Piccadilly, Victoria, Deansgate-Castlefield, Altrincham, Navigation Road, Eccles, Ashton-under-Lyne, Rochdale, and Manchester Airport.

Passengers that have purchased a train ticket to Manchester city centre from any train station in Greater Manchester can travel on the trams for free within the City Zone. The City Zone includes the following stations: Deansgate-Castlefield, St Peter’s Square, Piccadilly Gardens, Piccadilly, New Islington, Market Street, Shudehill, and Victoria.


Tickets are purchased from machines located at each station. Machines accept coins (though not 1p or 2p coins), notes (£5, £10, £20), plus debit and credit cards. Change is given.

Cheaper off-peak fares apply after 9.30 am on weekdays, and all day on Saturdays, Sundays, and public holidays. Accompanied children under 5 enjoy free travel while children aged 5 – 16 pay reduced price child fares (proof of age required for children over 11).

Weekend Travelcards are great value and allow travel anywhere on the network from early Friday evening to Sunday night. Family Day Travelcards and Family Weekend Travelcards are even better value.

Passengers must have purchased a ticket or pass before boarding a tram.

Park and Ride

Free parking is available at many Metrolink stations. The money saved by not having to park in expensive city centre car parks is typically more than the cost of a Metrolink ticket.

The following stations have large park and ride car parks:

  • Altrincham – Bury Line – Navigation Road, Brooklands, Whitefield, Radcliffe, and Bury
  • Altrincham – Piccadilly Line – Navigation Road and Brooklands
  • Bury – Piccadilly/Etihad Campus Line – Bury, Radcliffe, and Whitefield
  • East Didsbury – Rochdale Town Centre Line – East Didsbury, Hollinwood, Oldham Mumps, Derker, and Rochdale Railway Station
  • Eccles – Ashton-under-Lyne Line – Ladywell, Ashton Moss, and Ashton West
  • Manchester Airport – Cornbrook Line – Sale Water Park

There are no park and ride facilities on the MediaCityUK – Piccadilly Line.

Route Map

The map below shows all Metrolink lines and stations, major attractions, train stations, and more. Click on any symbol for further information.

Maps of individual lines can be found by following these links: Altrincham – Bury Line, Altrincham – Piccadilly Line, Bury – Piccadilly/Etihad Campus Line,  East Didsbury – Rochdale Town Centre Line, Eccles – Ashton-under-Lyne LineManchester Airport – Cornbrook Line, and MediaCityUK – Piccadilly Line.