Counties of England

There are 48 counties in England. Counties on this website are the ‘ceremonial counties’ as defined by the Lieutenancies Act 1997. Please note that other definitions of counties exist (e.g. historic counties).

England is one of the four countries making up the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (commonly known as the United Kingdom or UK). The other countries are Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland.

Information about the counties of England are shown in the table below:

CountyRegionNotesArea (Square Miles)Cities and Towns Include:
BedfordshireEast477Luton, Bedford, Dunstable, Leighton Buzzard
BerkshireSouth East487Reading, Slough, Bracknell, Maidenhead, Wokingham, Newbury, Woodley, Windsor, Thatcham
BristolSouth West40Bristol
BuckinghamshireSouth East724Milton Keynes, High Wycombe, Aylesbury
CambridgeshireEast1310Peterborough, Cambridge, Wisbech, St Neots
CheshireNorth West905Warrington, Chester, Crewe, Runcorn, Widnes, Ellesmere Port, Macclesfield, Northwich, Wilmslow, Winsford, Congleton
City of LondonLondon1
CornwallSouth West1375Redruth, Falmouth, St Austell
CumbriaNorth West2613Carlisle, Barrow-in-Furness, Kendal, Workington
DerbyshireEast Midlands1014Derby, Chesterfield, Swadlincote, Ilkeston, Long Eaton
DevonSouth West2590Plymouth, Exeter, Torquay, Paignton, Exmouth
DorsetSouth West1024Bournemouth, Poole, Weymouth, Christchurch, Ferndow
DurhamNorth East1051Darlington, Hartlepool, Stockton-on-Tees, Durham, Billingham, Peterlee, Newton Aycliffe
East Riding of YorkshireYorkshire and the Humber957Hull, Bridlington, Beverley
East SussexSouth East692Brighton and Hove, Eastbourne, Hastings, Bexhill-on-Sea
EssexEast1420Southend-on-Sea, Colchester, Chelmsford, Basildon, Harlow, Grays, Brentwood, Clackton-on-Sea, Braintree, Canvey Island, Billericay, Wickford, Loughton, Stanford-le-Hope, Witham
GloucestershireSouth West1220Gloucester, Cheltenham, Filton, Stroud, Yate
Greater LondonLondon606
Greater ManchesterNorth West493Manchester, Bolton, Sale, Rochdale, Stockport, Salford, Wigan, Oldham, Bury, Altrincham, Leigh, Ashton-under-Lyne, Middleton, Urmston, Eccles, Denton, Chadderton, Romiley, Hyde, Radcliffe, Ashton-in-Makerfield, Heywood, Farnworth, Stretford, Stalybridge, Swinton
HampshireSouth East1455Southampton, Portsmouth, Basingstoke, Eastleigh, Gosport, Farnborough, Andover, Aldershot, Horndean, Winchester, Havant, Fareham, Fleet, Totton, Hedge End
HerefordshireWest Midlands840Hereford
HertfordshireEast634Watford, Hemel Hempstead, Stevenage, St Albans, Welwyn Garden City, Cheshunt, Hoddesdon, Bishop's Stortford, Hatfield, Borehamwood, Hitchin, Letchworth, Harpenden, Hertford, Bushey
Isle of WightSouth East148Ryde, Newport
KentSouth East1442Maidstone, Gillingham, Dartford, Chatham, Ashford, Rochester, Margate, Royal Tunbridge Wells, Gravesend, Canterbury, Folkestone, Sittingbourne, Dover, Ramsgate, Tonbridge, Herne Bay, Whitstable, Deal, Sevenoaks, Northfleet
LancashireNorth West1189Blackpool, Blackburn, Preston, Burnley, Bamber Bridge, Lancaster, Lytham St Anne's, Leyland, Chorley, Fulwood, Accrington, Skelmersdale, Morecambe, Nelson, Darwen, Fleetwood
LeicestershireEast Midlands832Leicester, Loughborough, Hinckley, Coalville, Melton Mowbray
LincolnshireEast Midlands/Yorkshire and the HumberNorth Lincolnshire and North East Lincolnshire are part of Yorkshire and the Humber.2687Lincoln, Grimsby, Scunthorpe, Grantham, Boston, Cleethorpes, Spalding
MerseysideNorth West249Liverpool, Birkenhead, St Helens, Southport, Wallasey, Bebington, Bootle, Crosby, Kirkby, Prescot, Heswall, Maghull
NorfolkEast2074Norwich, King's Lynn, Great Yarmouth
North YorkshireYorkshire and the Humber/North EastMiddlesbrough, and Redcar and Cleveland in North Yorkshire are part of the North East.3324Middlesbrough, York, Harrogate, Scarborough, Redcar
NorthamptonshireEast Midlands913Northampton, Kettering, Corby, Wellingborough, Rushden, Daventry
NorthumberlandNorth East1936Blyth, Cramlington, Ashington
NottinghamshireEast Midlands830Nottingham, Mansfield, Beeston, Carlton, Sutton-in-Ashfield, West Bridgford, Worksop, Arnold, Newark-on-Trent, Hucknall, Kirkby-in-Ashfield
OxfordshireSouth East1006Oxford, Banbury, Abingdon-on-Thames, Bicester, Witney, Didcot
RutlandEast Midlands147Oakham
ShropshireWest Midlands1346Telford, Shrewsbury
SomersetSouth West1610Bath, Weston-super-Mare, Taunton, Yeovil, Bridgwater
South YorkshireYorkshire and the Humber599Sheffield, Doncaster, Rotherham, Barnsley, Wath-upon-Dearne, Bentley
StaffordshireWest Midlands1047Stoke-on-Trent, Tamworth, Newcastle-under-Lyme, Burton-upon-Trent, Stafford, Lichfield, Cannock, Burntwood, Kidsgrove
SuffolkEast1466Ipswich, Lowestoft, Bury St Edmunds, Haverhill
SurreySouth East642Woking, Guildford, Walton-on-Thames, Ewell, Esher, Camberley, Redhill, Leatherhead, Epsom, Weybridge, Ashford, Egham, Staines, Farnham
Tyne and WearNorth East208Newcastle, Sunderland, Gateshead, South Shields, Tynemouth, Washington, Wallsend, Jarrow, Longbenton, Whitley Bay
WarwickshireWest Midlands763Nuneaton, Rugby, Royal Leamington Spa, Warwick, Bedworth, Stratford-upon-Avon
West MidlandsWest Midlands348Birmingham, Coventry, Wolverhampton, Solihull, Sutton Coldfield, Dudley, West Bromich, Walsall, Stourbridge, Halesowen, Willenhall, Kingswinford, Smethwick, Bloxwich, Tipton, Aldridge, Rowley Regis, Brierley Hill, Sedgley, Bilston, Wednesfield
West SussexSouth East769Worthing, Crawley, Bognor Regis, Littlehampton, Shoreham-by-Sea, Horsham, Haywards Heath, Burgess Hill, East Grinstead, Chichester
West YorkshireYorkshire and the Humber783Leeds, Bradford, Huddersfield, Wakefield, Halifax, Batley, Dewsbury, Keighley, Castleford, Brighouse, Pudsey, Moreley, Pontefract, Shipley
WiltshireSouth West1346Swindon, Salisbury, Trowbridge, Chippenham
WorcestershireWest Midlands672Worcester, Redditch, Kidderminster, Malvern, Bromsgrove

Download a List of the English Counties

Visit North West offers a list of the English counties to download in various formats; CSV and Excel. Please credit this website if used.

Map of the English Counties

The map below is a simple representation of the English counties. Please note that the City of London (only 1 square mile) is not shown.

Map of England Showing Counties
Map of England Showing Counties

Download a Map of English Counties

Visit North West offers maps of the counties of England in various formats; png and jpg.

Readers are welcome to download and print or display the following maps for non-commercial use. Credit to this page of this website must be given where used.

Official Regions of England

There are 9 official regions of England. They are:

Download Maps of the English Regions

Maps of the regions of England can be found by following these links; East, East Midlands, London, North East, North West, South East, South West, West Midlands, and Yorkshire and the Humber.