East Midlands

The East Midlands is one of nine official regions of England. It comprises the counties of Derbyshire, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire (except North and North East Lincolnshire), Northamptonshire, Nottinghamshire, and Rutland.

Major towns and cities in the East Midlands include Leicester, Nottingham, Derby, Northampton, and Lincoln.

Counties of the East Midlands

Basic information about the counties of the East Midlands are shown in the table below:

CountyRegionNotesArea (Square Miles)Cities and Towns Include:
LincolnshireEast Midlands/Yorkshire and the HumberNorth Lincolnshire and North East Lincolnshire are part of Yorkshire and the Humber.2687Lincoln (EM), Grimsby (YH), Scunthorpe (YH), Grantham (EM), Boston (EM), Cleethorpes (YH), Spalding (EM)
DerbyshireEast Midlands1014Derby, Chesterfield, Swadlincote, Ilkeston, Long Eaton
LeicestershireEast Midlands832Leicester, Loughborough, Hinckley, Coalville, Melton Mowbray
NorthamptonshireEast Midlands913Northampton, Kettering, Corby, Wellingborough, Rushden, Daventry
NottinghamshireEast Midlands830Nottingham, Mansfield, Beeston, Carlton, Sutton-in-Ashfield, West Bridgford, Worksop, Arnold, Newark-on-Trent, Hucknall, Kirkby-in-Ashfield
RutlandEast Midlands147Oakham

Map of the East Midlands

A map of England with the East Midlands highlighted is shown below:

Map of East Midlands
Map of East Midlands

Download a Map of the East Midlands

We offer a map of the East Midlands in various formats; png and jpg.

Readers are welcome to download and print or display the maps for non-commercial use. Credit to this page of this website must be given where used.

Weather Forecasts for East Midlands

We offer weather forecasts for a selection of destinations in East Midlands:

Other Regions

The East Midlands is one of nine regions of England. The others are East, London, North East, North West, South East, South West, West Midlands, and Yorkshire and the Humber.