East of England

East of England is one of nine official regions of England. It comprises the counties of Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire, Essex, Hertfordshire, Norfolk, and Suffolk.

Major towns and cities include Luton, Norwich, Bedford, Southend-on-Sea, Peterborough, Cambridge, Ipswich, Watford, Colchester, Chelmsford, Basildon, and Hemel Hemstead.

Counties of East of England

Basic information about the counties of East of England are shown in the table below:

CountyArea (Square Miles)Cities and Towns Include:
Bedfordshire477Luton, Bedford, Dunstable, Leighton Buzzard
Cambridgeshire1310Peterborough, Cambridge, Wisbech, St Neots
Essex1420Southend-on-Sea, Colchester, Chelmsford, Basildon, Harlow, Grays, Brentwood, Clackton-on-Sea, Braintree, Canvey Island, Billericay, Wickford, Loughton, Stanford-le-Hope, Witham
Hertfordshire634Watford, Hemel Hempstead, Stevenage, St Albans, Welwyn Garden City, Cheshunt, Hoddesdon, Bishop's Stortford, Hatfield, Borehamwood, Hitchin, Letchworth, Harpenden, Hertford, Bushey
Norfolk2074Norwich, King's Lynn, Great Yarmouth
Suffolk1466Ipswich, Lowestoft, Bury St Edmunds, Haverhill

Map of East of England

A map of the East of England showing its counties is shown below.

Map of East of England
Map of East of England

Download a Map of the East of England

We offer a map of the East of England in various formats; png and jpg.

Readers are welcome to download and print or display the maps for non-commercial use. Credit to this page of this website must be given where used.

Weather Forecasts for the East of England

We offer weather forecasts for a selection of destinations in the East of England:

Other Regions

The other regions of England are East Midlands, London, North East, North West, South East, South West, West Midlands, and Yorkshire and the Humber.