North East England

North East England is one of the official regions of England. It is made up of the counties of Durham, Northumberland, and Tyne and Wear. It also includes a small part of North Yorkshire (Redcar & Cleveland and Middlesbrough).

Cities and towns in North East England include Newcastle-upon-Tyne, Middlesbrough, Sunderland, and Gateshead.

Counties of North East England

Basic information about the counties in North East England are shown in the table below:

CountyRegionNotesArea (Square Miles)Cities and Towns Include:
Tyne and WearNorth East208Newcastle, Sunderland, Gateshead, South Shields, Tynemouth, Washington, Wallsend, Jarrow, Longbenton, Whitley Bay
NorthumberlandNorth East1936Blyth, Cramlington, Ashington
North YorkshireYorkshire and the Humber/North EastMiddlesbrough, and Redcar and Cleveland in North Yorkshire are part of the North East.3324Middlesbrough (NE), York (YH), Harrogate (YH), Scarborough (YH), Redcar (NE)
DurhamNorth East1051Darlington, Hartlepool, Stockton-on-Tees, Durham, Billingham, Peterlee, Newton Aycliffe

Map of North East England

A map of England with North East England highlighted is shown below:

Map of North East England
Map of North East England

Download a Map of North East England

We offer a map of North East England in various formats; png and jpg.

Readers are welcome to download and print or display the maps for non-commercial use. Credit to this page of this website must be given where used.

Weather Forecasts for North East England

We offer weather forecasts for a selection of places in North East England:

Other Regions of England

The North East is one of nine regions of England. The others are East, East Midlands, London, North West, South East, South West, West Midlands, and Yorkshire and the Humber.