North West England

North West England is one of nine official regions of England in the UK. It includes the counties of Cheshire, Cumbria, Greater Manchester, Lancashire, and Merseyside.

Cities and towns in North West England include Liverpool, Manchester, Bolton, Warrington, Blackpool, Birkenhead, Sale, Blackburn, Salford, Rochdale, Stockport, Wigan, Oldham, St Helens, Preston, and Southport.

Counties of North West England

Basic information about the counties in North West England are shown in the table below:

CountyArea (Square Miles)Cities and Towns Include:
Cheshire905Warrington, Chester, Crewe, Runcorn, Widnes, Ellesmere Port, Macclesfield, Northwich, Wilmslow, Winsford, Congleton
Cumbria2613Carlisle, Barrow-in-Furness, Kendal, Workington
Greater Manchester493Manchester, Bolton, Sale, Rochdale, Stockport, Salford, Wigan, Oldham, Bury, Altrincham, Leigh, Ashton-under-Lyne, Middleton, Urmston, Eccles, Denton, Chadderton, Romiley, Hyde, Radcliffe, Ashton-in-Makerfield, Heywood, Farnworth, Stretford, Stalybridge, Swinton
Lancashire1189Blackpool, Blackburn, Preston, Burnley, Bamber Bridge, Lancaster, Lytham St Anne's, Leyland, Chorley, Fulwood, Accrington, Skelmersdale, Morecambe, Nelson, Darwen, Fleetwood
Merseyside249Liverpool, Birkenhead, St Helens, Southport, Wallasey, Bebington, Bootle, Crosby, Kirkby, Prescot, Heswall, Maghull

Map of North West England

A map of England with NW England highlighted is shown below:

Map of North West England
Map of North West England

Download a Map of North West England

We offer a map of North West England in various formats; png and jpg.

Readers are welcome to download and print or display the maps for non-commercial use. Credit to this page of this website must be given where used.

Weather Forecasts for North West England

We offer weather forecasts for a selection of places in North West England:

Other Regions of England

The North West is one of nine regions of England. The others are East, East Midlands, London, North East, South East, South West, West Midlands, and Yorkshire and the Humber.