South East England

South East England is one of the official regions of England. It includes the counties of Berkshire, Buckinghamshire, East Sussex, Hampshire, Isle of Wight, Kent, Oxfordshire, Surrey, and West Sussex.

Cities and towns in South East England include Southampton, Portsmouth, Brighton, Reading, Milton Keynes, Slough, Oxford, High Wycombe, Maidstone, Worthing, Basingstoke, Eastbourne, Crawley, Gillingham, and Woking.

Counties of South East England

Basic information about the counties in South East England are shown in the table below:

CountyArea (Square Miles)Cities and Towns Include:
Berkshire487Reading, Slough, Bracknell, Maidenhead, Wokingham, Newbury, Woodley, Windsor, Thatcham
Buckinghamshire724Milton Keynes, High Wycombe, Aylesbury
East Sussex692Brighton and Hove, Eastbourne, Hastings, Bexhill-on-Sea
Hampshire1455Southampton, Portsmouth, Basingstoke, Eastleigh, Gosport, Farnborough, Andover, Aldershot, Horndean, Winchester, Havant, Fareham, Fleet, Totton, Hedge End
Isle of Wight148Ryde, Newport
Kent1442Maidstone, Gillingham, Dartford, Chatham, Ashford, Rochester, Margate, Royal Tunbridge Wells, Gravesend, Canterbury, Folkestone, Sittingbourne, Dover, Ramsgate, Tonbridge, Herne Bay, Whitstable, Deal, Sevenoaks, Northfleet
Oxfordshire1006Oxford, Banbury, Abingdon-on-Thames, Bicester, Witney, Didcot
Surrey642Woking, Guildford, Walton-on-Thames, Ewell, Esher, Camberley, Redhill, Leatherhead, Epsom, Weybridge, Ashford, Egham, Staines, Farnham
West Sussex769Worthing, Crawley, Bognor Regis, Littlehampton, Shoreham-by-Sea, Horsham, Haywards Heath, Burgess Hill, East Grinstead, Chichester

Map of South East England

A map of England with South East England highlighted is shown below:

Map of South East England
Map of South East England

Download a Map of South East England

We offer a map of South East England in various formats; png and jpg.

Readers are welcome to download and print or display the maps for non-commercial use. Credit to this page of this website must be given where used.

Weather Forecasts for South East England

We offer weather forecasts for a selection of places in South East England:

Other Regions of England

The South East is one of nine regions of England. The others are East, East Midlands, London, North East, North West, South West, West Midlands, and Yorkshire and the Humber.