South West England

South West England is one of nine official regions of England. It comprises the counties of Bristol, Cornwall, Devon, Dorset, Gloucestershire, Somerset, and Wiltshire, plus the Isles of Scilly.

Major towns and cities include Bristol, Plymouth, Bournemouth, Swindon, Poole, Gloucester, Exeter, Cheltenham, and Bath.

Counties of South West England

Basic information about the counties of South West England are shown in the table below:

CountyArea (Square Miles)Cities and Towns Include:
Cornwall1375Redruth, Falmouth, St Austell
Devon2590Plymouth, Exeter, Torquay, Paignton, Exmouth
Dorset1024Bournemouth, Poole, Weymouth, Christchurch, Ferndow
Gloucestershire1220Gloucester, Cheltenham, Filton, Stroud, Yate
Somerset1610Bath, Weston-super-Mare, Taunton, Yeovil, Bridgwater
Wiltshire1346Swindon, Salisbury, Trowbridge, Chippenham

Map of South West England

A map of South West England showing its counties is shown below.

Map of South West England
Map of South West England

Download a Map of South West England

We offer a map of South West England in various formats; png and jpg.

Readers are welcome to download and print or display the following maps for non-commercial use. Credit to this page of this website must be given where used.

Weather Forecasts for South West England

We offer weather forecasts for a selection of destinations in South West England:

Other Regions

The South West is one of nine regions of England. The others are East, East Midlands, London, North East, North West, South West, West Midlands, and Yorkshire and the Humber.