The Lowry

Located on the waterfront at Salford Quays, The Lowry plays host to a variety of performing and visual arts. It attracts close to one million visitors each year and is one of the most popular visitor destinations in North West England.

HD video of a walk around Salford Quays (includes The Lowry)

The Lowry has two main theatres and a studio for the performing arts. The Lyric Theatre seats 1,730 while the smaller Quays Theatre has a capacity of 440. The Studio can accommodate up to 150. Seating plans for all performance areas are available on the official website.

The Lowry Theatre at Salford Quays
The Lowry

The theatres host a vibrant and varied schedule of performances; almost 1,000 each year. The programme includes opera, ballet, drama, musicals, dance, comedy, lectures, music, and Christmas shows. World and UK premiers are common.

Tickets for performances at the Lowry can be purchased online from the official website and third party ticketing websites such as Ticketmaster. They can also be bought over the telephone by calling the box office on 0343 208 6000. Booking fees apply for tickets purchased online or over the phone.

Entrance to the Lyric Theatre at The Lowry, Salford, Greater Manchester
Entrance to the Lyric Theatre

Tickets can also be purchased in person from the box office. It is open every day of the week. Opening times are 10 am to 8 pm (6 pm on days when there are no performances scheduled).

Discounted tickets are available for children, students, the disabled, seniors, and unemployed. Salford residents enjoy special discounts and can even qualify for free tickets.

The gallery here houses the largest collection of paintings and drawings by LS Lowry. It comprises over 400 works. Admission is free but donations are appreciated.

The Pier Eight restaurant enjoys a fantastic waterside setting and is open for lunch and pre-theatre dinner. Other facilities include several bars, a coffee shop, and gift shop.

The Lowry is located at the heart of Salford Quays (Pier 8, postcode M50 3AZ).

The Lowry
The Lowry

Visitors travelling to the Lowry by car should leave the M60 motorway at Junction 12 and take the M602, signposted for Salford and Manchester city centre. At the end of the M602 take the A5063 to Salford Quays and then follow the brown tourist signs to the Lowry.

There’s a drop-off zone adjacent to the main entrance. Parking is available at the multi-storey car park at Quayside (postcode M50 3AH). It is just a short walk away. Ticketholders enjoy discounted parking rates.

Lowry Outlet Mall, Quayside Car Park - Parking for The Lowry Theatre at Salford Quays
Quayside Mall Car Park

The nearest Metrolink station to the Lowry is MediaCityUK. Trams run from Manchester city centre.

Buses to The Lowry include the number 50 service from Didsbury. Stops on the way to Salford Quays include Manchester city centre, Salford Central Train Station, and Salford Crescent Train Station.

Other attractions in the area include the Imperial War Museum North, Quayside MediaCityUK, Vue Manchester Quayside, Old Trafford (Manchester United Museum and Tour), and MediaCityUK (BBC tours). All are within walking distance.

Almost three quarters of visitors to The Lowry live outside the Salford/Manchester area. Hotels nearby are listed at the end of this page.

Events - What's On - The Lowry

A selection of upcoming shows and events at The Lowry are listed below. Tickets can be purchased here.

DateEvent
Sunday 3rd March 2024 2:30 pmJonathan Pie: Heroes & Villains
Sunday 3rd March 2024 7:30 pmJonathan Pie: Heroes & Villains
Sunday 3rd March 2024 8:00 pmMatt Chorley: Poll Dancer
Thursday 14th March 2024 7:30 pmThe Horne Section's Hit Show
Friday 15th March 2024 6:30 pmDiversity
Saturday 16th March 2024 12:30 pmDiversity
Saturday 16th March 2024 5:30 pmDiversity
Sunday 17th March 2024 7:30 pmLeigh Francis
Monday 18th March 2024 7:30 pmAn Evening with Rick Stein
Sunday 24th March 2024 7:00 pmCelebrating 50 Years in Showbiz With Special Guest Mike Garry
Thursday 28th March 2024 8:00 pmAn Evening With The Empire Film Podcast
Thursday 28th March 2024 8:00 pmKarl Porter & Friends
Saturday 30th March 2024 7:30 pmMC Hammersmith: Straight Outta Brompton
Saturday 30th March 2024 8:00 pmThe Bugle Live
Sunday 31st March 2024 7:00 pmCelebrating 50 Years in Showbiz With Special Guest Mike Garry
Tuesday 2nd April 2024 8:00 pmJosh Baulf & Friends
Wednesday 3rd April 2024 8:00 pmThree Black Haflings
Thursday 4th April 2024 8:00 pmDaniel O'Reilly: Out of Character
Sunday 7th April 2024 7:00 pmFrankie Boyle: Lap of Shame
Sunday 7th April 2024 8:00 pmIain Stirling - Relevant
Sunday 14th April 2024 7:30 pmThe Magical Music of Harry Potter
Sunday 21st April 2024 8:00 pmCount Arthur Strong - ...and It's Goodnight From Him
Wednesday 24th April 2024 7:30 pmRumours of Fleetwood Mac
Thursday 25th April 2024 7:00 pmCelebrating 50 Years In Showbiz
Friday 26th April 2024 7:30 pmTom Allen: Completely
Saturday 27th April 2024 7:30 pmTom Allen: Completely
Sunday 28th April 2024 8:00 pmRay Bradshaw: Doppelginger
Monday 29th April 2024 7:00 pmCharles Esten
Thursday 2nd May 2024 7:30 pmRhod Gilbert & the Giant Grapefruit
Friday 3rd May 2024 7:30 pmRhod Gilbert & the Giant Grapefruit
Saturday 4th May 2024 7:30 pmRhod Gilbert & the Giant Grapefruit
Sunday 5th May 2024 7:30 pmJethro Tull The Seven Decades
Sunday 12th May 2024 7:30 pmDionne Warwick - Don't Make Me Over
Tuesday 14th May 2024 7:30 pmStrictly Come Dancing The Professionals 2024
Wednesday 15th May 2024 2:00 pmStrictly Come Dancing The Professionals 2024
Wednesday 15th May 2024 7:30 pmStrictly Come Dancing The Professionals 2024
Thursday 16th May 2024 7:30 pmFrank Skinner: 30 Years of Dirt
Saturday 25th May 2024 8:00 pmAnuvab Pal: The Department of Britishness
Sunday 26th May 2024 7:30 pmJosh Pugh: Existin' La Vida Loca
Sunday 2nd June 2024 7:30 pmAn Evening with Alfie Boe
Sunday 2nd June 2024 8:00 pmEmmanuel Sonubi - Curriculum Vitae
Friday 7th June 2024 8:00 pmLaura Smyth: Living My Best Life
Thursday 13th June 2024 8:00 pmJohn Kearns - the Varnishing Days
Sunday 16th June 2024 8:00 pmRichard Herring - Can I Have My Ball Back?
Friday 26th July 2024 8:00 pmLloyd Griffith: Baroque & Roll
Wednesday 31st July 2024 11:00 amBluey's Big Play
Thursday 1st August 2024 11:00 amBluey's Big Play
Friday 2nd August 2024 11:00 amBluey's Big Play
Friday 2nd August 2024 2:00 pmBluey's Big Play
Saturday 3rd August 2024 11:00 amBluey's Big Play
Saturday 3rd August 2024 2:00 pmBluey's Big Play
Saturday 3rd August 2024 4:30 pmBluey's Big Play
Sunday 4th August 2024 11:00 amBluey's Big Play
Sunday 4th August 2024 2:00 pmBluey's Big Play
Sunday 4th August 2024 4:30 pmBluey's Big Play
Tuesday 6th August 2024 11:00 amBluey's Big Play
Wednesday 7th August 2024 11:00 amBluey's Big Play
Thursday 8th August 2024 11:00 amBluey's Big Play
Thursday 8th August 2024 2:00 pmBluey's Big Play
Friday 9th August 2024 11:00 amBluey's Big Play
Friday 9th August 2024 2:00 pmBluey's Big Play
Saturday 10th August 2024 11:00 amBluey's Big Play
Saturday 10th August 2024 2:00 pmBluey's Big Play
Saturday 10th August 2024 4:30 pmBluey's Big Play
Sunday 11th August 2024 11:00 amBluey's Big Play
Sunday 11th August 2024 2:00 pmBluey's Big Play
Sunday 11th August 2024 4:30 pmBluey's Big Play
Sunday 8th September 2024 8:00 pmMyra Dubois: Be Well
Wednesday 2nd October 2024 6:30 pmBlue Man Group
Thursday 3rd October 2024 1:30 pmBlue Man Group
Thursday 3rd October 2024 6:30 pmBlue Man Group
Friday 4th October 2024 6:30 pmBlue Man Group
Saturday 5th October 2024 1:30 pmBlue Man Group
Saturday 5th October 2024 6:30 pmBlue Man Group
Sunday 6th October 2024 12:30 pmBlue Man Group
Sunday 6th October 2024 5:30 pmBlue Man Group
Thursday 10th October 2024 7:30 pmBen Elton - Authentic Stupidity
Friday 11th October 2024 7:30 pmCarrie Hope Fletcher: Love Letters
Saturday 12th October 2024 7:30 pmCome What May
Friday 18th October 2024 7:30 pmEd Byrne: Tragedy Plus Time
Saturday 19th October 2024 8:00 pmSchalk Bezuidenhout: Keeping Up
Saturday 19th October 2024 8:00 pmTroy Hawke: the Greeters Guild
Sunday 20th October 2024 7:30 pmAl Murray - Guv Island
Sunday 20th October 2024 8:00 pmMatt Bragg - Matt Bragg Has Nothing Wrong with Him
Thursday 24th October 2024 8:00 pmLaura Smyth: Living My Best Life
Sunday 3rd November 2024 7:00 pmJane McDonald
Sunday 3rd November 2024 7:30 pmJason Byrne: No Show
Tuesday 5th November 2024 7:30 pmSimon Brodkin: Screwed Up
Sunday 10th November 2024 8:00 pmGrace Campbell Is On Heat
Saturday 25th January 2025 7:30 pmRussell Kane: Hyperactive
Sunday 9th March 2025 8:00 pmEshaan Akbar: Live 2025
Friday 28th March 2025 6:45 pmPaddy McGuinness - Nearly There...
Friday 4th April 2025 8:00 pmLou Sanders - No Kissing in the Bingo Hall

More events may be listed on the official Lowry website (see the information section at the end of this page).

Nearby Attractions

Tourist attractions and things to do near The Lowry include:

Nearby Cinemas

Cinemas near The Lowry include:

Nearby Shopping

Places to shop near The Lowry include:

Nearby Restaurants

Restaurants and places to eat and drink near The Lowry include:

Nearby Hotels

Hotels near The Lowry include:

  • Holiday Inn Manchester - MediaCityUK (0.2 miles)
  • Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays (0.3 miles)
  • AC Hotel Manchester Salford Quays (0.6 miles)

Nearby Metrolink Stations

Metrolink stations near The Lowry include:

Map

Map showing location of The Lowry.

Map showing location of The Lowry

Details

The Lowry

Address and postcode
Pier 8, Salford Quays
Salford
Greater Manchester
United Kingdom
M50 3AZ

Visit The Lowry Website

Reviews and Additional Information

  1. Have booked tickets again this time to see Matthew Bourne Cinderella. Was more than disappointed to see this ballet televised over Christmas! My tickets for March 2018 cost £90. Surely this is not right. Feel robbed!

    Reply

Add Review or Additional Information

error: Alert: Content selection is disabled!!