The Lowry

Located on the waterfront at Salford Quays, The Lowry plays host to a variety of performing and visual arts. It attracts close to one million visitors each year and is one of the most popular visitor destinations in North West England.

HD video of a walk around Salford Quays (includes The Lowry)

The Lowry has two main theatres and a studio for the performing arts. The Lyric Theatre seats 1,730 while the smaller Quays Theatre has a capacity of 440. The Studio can accommodate up to 150. Seating plans for all performance areas are available on the official website.

The Lowry Theatre at Salford Quays
The Lowry

The theatres host a vibrant and varied schedule of performances; almost 1,000 each year. The programme includes opera, ballet, drama, musicals, dance, comedy, lectures, music, and Christmas shows. World and UK premiers are common.

Tickets for performances at the Lowry can be purchased online from the official website and third party ticketing websites such as Ticketmaster. They can also be bought over the telephone by calling the box office on 0343 208 6000. Booking fees apply for tickets purchased online or over the phone.

Entrance to the Lyric Theatre at The Lowry, Salford, Greater Manchester
Entrance to the Lyric Theatre

Tickets can also be purchased in person from the box office. It is open every day of the week. Opening times are 10 am to 8 pm (6 pm on days when there are no performances scheduled).

Discounted tickets are available for children, students, the disabled, seniors, and unemployed. Salford residents enjoy special discounts and can even qualify for free tickets.

The gallery here houses the largest collection of paintings and drawings by LS Lowry. It comprises over 400 works. Admission is free but donations are appreciated.

The Pier Eight restaurant enjoys a fantastic waterside setting and is open for lunch and pre-theatre dinner. Other facilities include several bars, a coffee shop, and gift shop.

The Lowry is located at the heart of Salford Quays (Pier 8, postcode M50 3AZ).

The Lowry
The Lowry

Visitors travelling to the Lowry by car should leave the M60 motorway at Junction 12 and take the M602, signposted for Salford and Manchester city centre. At the end of the M602 take the A5063 to Salford Quays and then follow the brown tourist signs to the Lowry.

There’s a drop-off zone adjacent to the main entrance. Parking is available at the multi-storey car park at Quayside (postcode M50 3AH). It is just a short walk away. Ticketholders enjoy discounted parking rates.

Lowry Outlet Mall, Quayside Car Park - Parking for The Lowry Theatre at Salford Quays
Quayside Mall Car Park

The nearest Metrolink station to the Lowry is MediaCityUK. Trams run from Manchester city centre.

Buses to The Lowry include the number 50 service from Didsbury. Stops on the way to Salford Quays include Manchester city centre, Salford Central Train Station, and Salford Crescent Train Station.

Other attractions in the area include the Imperial War Museum North, Quayside MediaCityUK, Vue Manchester Quayside, Old Trafford (Manchester United Museum and Tour), and MediaCityUK (BBC tours). All are within walking distance.

Almost three quarters of visitors to The Lowry live outside the Salford/Manchester area. Hotels nearby are listed at the end of this page.

Events - What's On - The Lowry

A selection of upcoming shows and events at The Lowry are listed below. Tickets can be purchased here.

DateEvent
Sunday 19th September 2021 7:00 pmTom Seals
Wednesday 29th September 2021 8:00 pmSindhu Vee: Alphabet
Saturday 2nd October 2021 7:30 pmSocially Distant Sports Bar: Live!
Sunday 3rd October 2021 8:00 pmPhilly Philly Wang Wang
Monday 4th October 2021 7:30 pmRumours of Fleetwood Mac
Saturday 9th October 2021 2:30 pmJonathan Pie: Fake News (Corona Mix)
Saturday 9th October 2021 7:30 pmJonathan Pie: Fake News (Corona Mix)
Sunday 10th October 2021 7:00 pmDan Snow's History Hit
Sunday 10th October 2021 7:30 pmHarris and Baker: Back Stage Pass
Sunday 10th October 2021 8:00 pmJason Byrne - Audience Precipitation
Saturday 16th October 2021 8:00 pmIain Stirling - Failing Upwards
Monday 18th October 2021 8:00 pmEmily Atack: Has Left the Group
Tuesday 19th October 2021 8:00 pmLoyiso Gola: Pop Culture
Saturday 23rd October 2021 8:00 pmDane Baptiste
Sunday 24th October 2021 8:00 pmClinton Baptiste Goes Stratospheric
Thursday 28th October 2021 8:00 pmPaul Foot - Swan Power
Sunday 31st October 2021 7:00 pmCollabro
Tuesday 2nd November 2021 8:00 pmRoss Noble: Humournoid
Wednesday 3rd November 2021 8:00 pmSimon Amstell - Spirit Hole
Thursday 4th November 2021 7:30 pmChris Ramsey - 20/20
Sunday 7th November 2021 7:00 pmGabrielle - 20th Anniversary of 'rise' Plus Greatest Hits
Thursday 11th November 2021 7:30 pmSlim: King
Sunday 14th November 2021 7:00 pmSeasick Steve
Saturday 20th November 2021 7:30 pmNigel Ng - The HAIYAA Tour
Saturday 20th November 2021 8:00 pmAustentatious - the Improvised Jane Austen Novel
Sunday 21st November 2021 8:00 pmAustentatious - the Improvised Jane Austen Novel
Thursday 2nd December 2021 8:00 pmSimon Brodkin - Troublemaker
Friday 14th January 2022 8:00 pmStephen K Amos
Sunday 16th January 2022 8:00 pmJohn Bishop: Right Here, Right Now
Saturday 29th January 2022 8:00 pmRob Newman - Philosophy Show
Sunday 30th January 2022 7:00 pmThe Classic Rock Show
Sunday 30th January 2022 8:00 pmJenny Eclair: Sixty! (FFS)
Saturday 12th February 2022 7:30 pmMilton Jones - Milton: Impossible
Sunday 13th February 2022 7:30 pmQueen Extravaganza
Sunday 27th February 2022 8:00 pmMike Bubbins: Throwback
Sunday 13th March 2022 7:30 pmEd Gamble - Electric
Sunday 13th March 2022 8:00 pmReginald D Hunter: Bomb Shuffler
Sunday 13th March 2022 8:00 pmTom Houghton - Honour Tour
Sunday 20th March 2022 8:00 pmIain Stirling - Failing Upwards
Sunday 27th March 2022 7:30 pmWe Are Nature with Ray Mears
Sunday 17th April 2022 8:00 pmTwo MR P's In a Podcast - Live!
Friday 22nd April 2022 7:30 pmJulian Clary - Born To Mince
Saturday 23rd April 2022 8:00 pmThe Thinking Drinkers - The Pub Quiz Tour
Thursday 28th April 2022 7:30 pmStrictly Come Dancing - the Professionals 2022
Friday 29th April 2022 2:00 pmStrictly Come Dancing - the Professionals 2022
Friday 29th April 2022 7:30 pmStrictly Come Dancing - the Professionals 2022
Monday 2nd May 2022 8:00 pmOmid Djalili: the Good Times Tour
Thursday 12th May 2022 7:30 pmSimply Dylan
Friday 13th May 2022 8:00 pmPaul Merton's Impro Chums
Saturday 14th May 2022 8:00 pmLost Voice Guy: Cerebral LOL-sy
Sunday 5th June 2022 8:00 pmCount Arthur Strong: And This is Me!
Tuesday 14th June 2022 7:00 pmAn Evening with The Hollies - 60th Anniversary tour 2022
Wednesday 22nd June 2022 7:30 pmOti Mabuse - I Am Here
Thursday 23rd June 2022 7:30 pmOti Mabuse - I Am Here
Sunday 26th June 2022 2:30 pmAnton and Giovanni - Him and Me
Sunday 26th June 2022 7:30 pmAnton and Giovanni - Him and Me
Thursday 30th June 2022 8:00 pmLarry Dean: Fudnut
Monday 1st August 2022 7:00 pmAn Evening with David Sedaris
Tuesday 6th September 2022 7:00 pmDavid Essex
Saturday 10th September 2022 10:00 amPeppa Pig's Best Day Ever!
Saturday 10th September 2022 12:30 pmPeppa Pig's Best Day Ever!
Saturday 10th September 2022 3:00 pmPeppa Pig's Best Day Ever!
Sunday 11th September 2022 10:00 amPeppa Pig's Best Day Ever!
Sunday 11th September 2022 12:30 pmPeppa Pig's Best Day Ever!
Sunday 11th September 2022 3:00 pmPeppa Pig's Best Day Ever!
Tuesday 25th October 2022 7:30 pmThe Magical Music of Harry Potter

More events may be listed on the official Lowry website (see the information section at the end of this page).

Nearby Attractions

Tourist attractions and things to do near The Lowry include:

Nearby Cinemas

Cinemas near The Lowry include:

Nearby Shoppping

Places to shop near The Lowry include:

Nearby Restaurants

Restaurants and places to eat and drink near The Lowry include:

Nearby Hotels

Hotels near The Lowry include:

  • Holiday Inn Manchester - MediaCityUK (0.2 miles)
  • Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays (0.3 miles)
  • AC Hotel Manchester Salford Quays (0.6 miles)

Nearby Metrolink Stations

Metrolink stations near The Lowry include:

Map

Map showing location of The Lowry.

Map showing location of The Lowry

Details

The Lowry

Address and postcode
Pier 8, Salford Quays
Salford
Greater Manchester
United Kingdom
M50 3AZ

Visit The Lowry Website

Reviews and Additional Information

  1. Have booked tickets again this time to see Matthew Bourne Cinderella. Was more than disappointed to see this ballet televised over Christmas! My tickets for March 2018 cost £90. Surely this is not right. Feel robbed!

    Reply

Add Review or Additional Information

error: Content is protected !!